- setup an automated email using AutomateWoo or Follow-ups that is sent to the customer when their subscription expires or is cancelled.
- include a coupon in the email – this also encourages the customer to resubscribe.
Subscription Resubscribe Guide
This guide provides information about resubscribing to subscriptions with the Woo Subscriptions extension. A resubscribe is a special type of subscription renewal that applies only to a subscription that has ended. After a customer’s subscription has expired or been cancelled, she can create a new subscription which extends the old subscription’s terms by resubscribing from the My Account page. Resubscribing to a subscription that ended will create a new subscription for the same product or products; but it does not have the same behavior as purchasing a new subscription, or renewing a subscription. Resubscribing has a number of special behaviors outlined below. If the subscription has a free trial, the customer will not receive the free trial again when resubscribing. The customer has already benefited from the free trial when they first purchased the subscription. If the prices for any product line items on the subscription have changed, the customer’s new subscription will continue to have the original, older prices. For example, consider a product which had a price of $10/month, but has since had a price increase to $12/month. If the customer were to purchase the product for the first time, he would be charged $12 month. If the customer resubscribes to his expired or cancelled subscription, he will be charged $10/month. To have subscriptions use the new price, you need to update the price on the subscription before the customer resubscribes. Prices of existing subscription can be manually modified via the Edit Subscription administration screen. To automate the price change, the AutomateWoo extension can be used to update the price. If the original subscription has coupons applied to discount the subscription’s recurring cost, those coupons will not be automatically applied when resubscribing. Either the existing coupons, or other coupons, can still be manually applied to the resubscribe, as it uses the normal Cart -> Checkout process. This avoids issues with applying coupons that have expired or are otherwise since been limited, for example, because their usage restriction has been reached. It’s also a better default behavior because it’s easy enough for a customer to apply a coupon during checkout, or for a store owner to add a discount to the subscription after sign-up, but it’s harder for a store owner to remove a discount or coupon a customer has applied which the store owner didn’t intend for them to receive afterwards as it requires increasing the cost of the subscription. To provide a coupon for resubscribing: